Mehdi Schneyders

Biography 


Mehdi Schneyders was born in Etterbeek ( Brussels, Belgium ), on May 17th, 1979, from a Belgian father and a South African – Indian mother. Since 1982, he lives in Wavre ( Belgium ).

Being a great dreamer, he has always let his passions setting the pace for his life. Among these, there is drawing. As a pure self – taugh person ( presumably at the age of 4 ), Mehdi began to draw every day… and did not stop since then !

The comic strip ? Like Obélix, he fell in from an early age. Through this one welled up in him two consuming passions : the American Civil War ( The Bluecoats, No. 16 : Bronco Benny ) at the age of 7 ( thank you, the Tooth Fairy ) and the Royal Air Force during the Second World War. This significant second event occured when he was 12 years old. Mehdi discovered, by opening the Belgian daily newspaper Le Soir, the first comic board of Spitfire Parade, one of Biggles’ adventures ( a novel series created the British writer William Earl Johns ) adapted by the French cartoonist Francis Bergèse. Never missing a single issue of the newspaper, he received the comic book at his request one year later. The virus is definitively in him !

At the age of 13, mostly with the support of relatives and teachers as well, he took the following decision : « I will make my passion my profession ». One year later, Mehdi went to pursue his art education ( equivalent to Modern Apprenticeships in the United Kingdom ) at the I.A.T.A. ( Namur, Belgium ), option « Applied Arts » ( 1993 – 1998 ). Exhausted, he finished nonetheless in a state of grace.

In September 1998, he attended the École des Beaux – Arts de Saint – Luc ( present – day École Supérieure des Arts, Liège, Belgium ), in the « Illustration » section. His goal was to work in comics. He saw the end of the tunnel in 2002………. ingloriously.

His studies completed, then began the working life Monopoly going through the square « job seeker ». One must work, both his passions and projects must be funded. Therefore, Mehdi moved his piece on the square « temporary employment ». He is not enthusiastic about that, but a work is a work. That lasted two years. He continued to draw on the side, to develop a comic strip project. This one came about during his last year at Saint – Luc, but remained unmaterialized. Nevertheless, because he is passionate about the subject ( the R.A.F., of course ), he is determined not to drop it.

The key word is and remains drawing, either project unfolds for him. Alternately caricaturist, then computer graphics designer, Mehdi wished to get back to his comic strip project, starting with an adequate documentation. Perfectionist and detail oriented about historical accuracy of the subject matter, he goes, from February 2009, to meet some former R.A.F. airmen. To thank them, portraits of these persons came about. By a combination of circumstances, said portraits arouse the interest of a free researcher from the Air & Space Section ( Royal Museum of Army and Military History in Brussels, Belgium ). Their collaboration lasted three years.

Since then, according to meetings, he began to be requested for his work. Showing patience, self – denial and unwavering optimism, Mehdi proposes a fine, fiddly and precise work, with the aim to reach perfection. Following a wonderful experience as an English « teacher » ( he hates this term, though ) within the Kids&Us Language School of Wavre ( from March 9th to June 22nd, 2018 ), working two jobs seems to him quite obvious, even needful.

How did he end up within the éditions pat.H ? By the most simplest way. On February 27th, 2019, following the reception of an E – mail with the latest news about the dream of Icarus ( thank you, Yves Duwelz ), an advertisement catched his eyes. Having not hesitated for a second, Mehdi phoned the contact person ( Patricia Henrion ) and, on Tuesday, March 5th, the meeting ( the first working day, in truth ) took place. Since then, on a daily basis, Mehdi has got joy to be able to devote himself to three of his great passions ( drawing, books and aviation ). Always with the aim to reach perfection, he spares no effort to dig up necessary informations and to cross reference sources ( while ruminating on others’ mistakes ), in order to perfect the presentations on the online sales site : www.aviation.brussels.

BACK TO THE 'WHO ARE WE' PAGE

Close (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Shopping Cart

Your cart is currently empty.
Shop now

Mehdi Schneyders

Biographie

 

Mehdi Schneyders est né à Etterbeek ( Bruxelles, Belgique ), le 17 mai 1979, d’un père belge et d’une mère sud – africaine d’origine indienne. Depuis 1982, il réside à Wavre ( Belgique ).

 

Étant un grand rêveur, il a toujours laissé ses passions rythmer sa vie. Parmi celles – ci, il y a le dessin. En pur autodidacte ( vraisemblablement dès l’âge de 4 ans ), Mehdi se met à dessiner tous les jours… et ne s’arrête plus depuis !

 

La bande dessinée ? Comme Obélix, il est tombé dedans dès son plus jeune âge. Par l’entremise de celle – ci, naissent en lui deux passions dévorantes : la guerre de Sécession ( Les Tuniques Bleues, Tome 16 : Bronco Benny ) à l’âge de 7 ans ( merci, la petite souris ) et la Royal Air Force durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce deuxième événement marquant survient lorsqu’il a 12 ans. En ouvrant le quotidien belge Le Soir, Mehdi découvre la première planche du Bal des Spitfires, une des aventures de Biggles ( série de romans créée par l’écrivain britannique William Earl Johns ) adaptée par le dessinateur français Francis Bergèse. Ne manquant aucun numéro du journal, il reçoit, à sa demande, l’album un an plus tard. Le virus est, définitivement, en lui !

 

À l’âge 13 ans, grâce surtout au soutien de proches et d’enseignants, il prend la décision suivante : « Je ferai de ma passion, mon métier ». Un an plus tard, Mehdi part poursuivre ses études secondaires professionnelles ( équivalentes au B.E.P. en France ) à l’I.A.T.A. ( Namur, Belgique ), dans l’option « Arts Appliqués » ( 1993 – 1998 ). Épuisé, il en sort, néanmoins, en état de grâce.

 

En septembre 1998, il entre à l’École des Beaux – Arts de Saint – Luc ( actuelle École Supérieure des Arts, Liège, Belgique ), dans la section « Illustration ». Son but est de travailler dans la bande dessinée. Il voit le bout du tunnel en 2002………. sans gloire.

 

Les études terminées, débute alors le Monopoly de la vie active par la case « demandeur d’emploi ». Il faut travailler, financer ses passions et ses projets. Mehdi déplace donc son pion sur la case « travail intérimaire ». Cela ne l’enchante guère, mais un travail est un travail. Cela dure deux ans. Sur le côté, il continue de dessiner, de développer un projet de bande dessinée. Celui – ci a vu le jour durant sa dernière année à Saint – Luc, sans être concrétisé. Néanmoins, puisque le sujet le passionne ( la R.A.F., of course ), il est décidé à ne pas le lâcher.

 

Dessiner étant et restant le maître – mot, l’un ou l’autre petit projet s’offre à lui. Tour à tour caricaturiste, puis infographiste, Mehdi souhaite se remettre à son projet de bande dessinée, en commençant par se documenter convenablement. Perfectionniste et soucieux de l’exactitude historique du sujet traité, il part, dès février 2009, à la rencontre d’anciens aviateurs de la R.A.F. En remerciements, des portraits de ces personnes voient le jour. Par un concours de circonstances, lesdits portraits éveillent l’intérêt d’un documentaliste bénévole de la Section Air & Espace ( Musée Royal de l’Armée et d’Histoire Militaire de Bruxelles, Belgique ). Leur collaboration dure trois ans.

 

Depuis, au fur et à mesure des rencontres, il commence à être solliciter pour son travail. Faisant preuve de patience, d’abnégation et d’un optimisme sans faille, Mehdi propose un travail fin, minutieux et précis, en ayant pour but d’atteindre la perfection. Suite à une formidable expérience comme « professeur » ( il déteste ce terme, pourtant ) d’anglais au sein de la Kids&Us Language School de Wavre ( du 9 mars au 22 juin 2018 ), cumuler deux emplois lui semble évident, voire nécessaire.

 

Comment a – t – il atterri au sein des éditions pat.H ? Le plus simplement du monde. Le 27 février 2019, suite à la réception d’un message regroupant les dernières nouvelles concernant le rêve d’Icare ( merci, Yves Duwelz ), une annonce attire son regard. N’hésitant pas une seconde, Mehdi téléphone à la personne de contact ( Patricia Henrion ) et, le mardi 5 mars, l’entrevue ( le premier jour de travail, en vérité ) a lieu. Depuis lors, Mehdi a la joie de pouvoir s’adonner, quotidiennement, à trois de ses grandes passions ( le dessin, les livres et l’aviation ). Toujours dans le même but d’atteindre la perfection, il se donne sans compter pour dégoter les informations nécessaires et pour croiser les sources ( tout en ruminant sur les erreurs des autres ), afin de parfaire les présentations sur le site de ventes en ligne : www.aviation.brussels

 

RETOURNER À LA PAGE DE 'QUI SOMMES-NOUS'

Fermer (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Recherche

Panier

Votre panier est vide.
Boutique